Welcome to Christian Writers!

We are a friendly community built around Christian writing, publishing, reading and fellowship. Register or sign in today to join in the fun!

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

cephas7

Hello And A Brief Bio

Hi, I'm just joining this site so I'm unsure of what to expect. I was a journalist for many years (newspapers in California and some magazine work.) Then I took time off to raise my kids. I've just finished a book...it's about finding your footing with God after trauma. My son had a traumatic accident and I found myself questioning many core beliefs. This book is the fruit of that long period of struggle. My writing has a lot of personal reflection and a lot of humor. It does try to tackle some of the bigger questions like how underrated humility is as a virtue, how to avoid burying your head in the sand, the process of spiritual healing, etc. Long story short...I like the book a lot. However, I've become a bit discouraged as I research the publishing process. It sounds like you need to create a platform and write a lot of blogs and develop a marketing strategy and a lot of other things as an unknown author...all before I know whether my book will have any legs. Also, I confess (a purist here) that I'm reluctant to change what is a very personal narrative into a five-point plan with lots of hooks just to get it to sell. I don't have a five-point plan that guarantees that your suffering will bear fruit. I just have the promises in the Bible. So...I'm actually thinking of just posting my proposal on christianmanuscriptsubmissions.com and being done with it...maybe the easy way out? Thanks for reading!

Screw up, here's my bio.