I'm a 35 Year Veteran of the Martial Arts

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

I can't leave you guys alone for a minute, can I?

Cookies??  

I didn't take classes but was taught lots of different styles for as long as I can remember by family. They never did any of the spiritual aspects. I personally believe being able to defend yourself,

Posted Images

In my limited experience of martial arts, took 2 years of training with my son when he was young, and being a Christian, it did not affect my beliefs. I practiced to become more fit and to provide a tiny bit of confidence to me as the protector of my family.

• Thanks 1

Well I've never done martial arts and know very little about it. But based on what little I do know, it's supposed to about focus on one's self and (?)Spiritual(?) Cohesiveness. If I'm right I say dive in the both feet. If I'm wrong disregard my foolish thoughts. 

• Thanks 1

I have no idea what kind of martial arts they do, but I have two brothers and nephews, who are seriously into it. (It has a lot to do with kicking with all sides of their feet, and twirling a long stick all sorts of ways without bruising or castrating themselves. I've seen what they do, just feel stupid asking the dumb "what is that?") The older brother has quite a few black belts and just built a house with a dojo in it. They are also somewhere between agnostic and atheist, and I've been praying for them longer than you've been doing martial arts.

So for entirely selfish reasons, (or is it), man! Not only "do it," but I would love you to do it in such a way, their ears would perk up. (They will not hear about God.) Or... can you write it in a way that nonbelievers would pick it up without knowing where it goes before they are hooked hard enough they keep reading when they figure it out?

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1