c513e21392da6db0cef1e712e8f4f137.jpg.c0b35c3f7e3cdfde962bc74bcf006dd7.jpg

Just wanted to share this with y'all.  Thought you might find it funny.

Photography is an art.  It wasn't meant for taking a picture of your breakfast to share with the world.  What also comes to mind is what my dad told me is the term for an accident involving a selfie gone horribly wrong: "kilfie." 🙄

Edited by Grey_Skies
Punctuation error
  • Like 1

I know it's ironic, but I am a photographer, not a pro by any means, but I have always thought just because everyone has a camera doesn't make them a photographer. True photography is art and carefully taken shots that are done by taking time to frame your photo, using techniques like 'rules of thirds' and understanding how to use spot metering to capture the correct lighting. Most people 'think' they are a photographer because every phone has a camera in it, but so most of the photos taken are boring and ordinary. Not only that, they don't take their time. Most are shotgun photographers who take a bunch of photos and choose which one looks best. This again requires no talent. I entered my local show in the photography competition and got 2nd and 3rd place for the following photos.

man-with-guitar.jpg

IMG_0918.JPG

• Like 4

I wonder if there's truly less real photography being done, or if that work is just hidden in the rising seas of self-promotional fluff that comes from obsessive use of phone cameras.

It seems so much easier to simply point at ourselves than to produce something that truly gives to others. Perhaps that's why there are far, far more social media pages than things like author websites, or other sites whose purpose is to give out to an audience, rather than just pointing to self.

It's kinda' sad that so many seem to actually think the world cares about what they ate for breakfast. We get durn-near-infinite chances to show the world the most mediocre details of our lives.

• Like 2