Welcome to Christian Writers!

We are a friendly community built around Christian writing, publishing, reading and fellowship. Register or sign in today to join in the fun!
SeekingGrace

Fiction or Nonfiction

I am new to taking a Christian writing seriously.  I am wondering which direction to really go with my writing.  Should I go towards more Christian Fiction or should focus on Christian Nonfiction?  I have some developmental  ideas for both fiction and nonfiction.  But I have a more developed idea for a Nonfiction story.  

For the fiction story, it is based on a personal experience I had witnessing an hit and run accident. My friend nearly died after being hit by car one night.  I would love write a story based on my spiritual experience that night.  

Basically, the main character would not be a Christian believe before the accident or at least not in speaking terms with God due to her learning about her mother’s recent diagnosis to breast cancer.  She was angry with God and felt the idea of Jesus just might be a folktale.  However, her friend is a Progressive Christian and an active member local community church.   They both go out to local event or a wine bar to celebrate the main character’s birthday.   They are walking back to the car and have to cross a street to get to the car.  It’s late at night and the street light is broken.  They both look for crossing car and attempt to cross the street.   But a black Honda Civic without its headlights on come zooming down the street.  It misses the main character by inches but forces her friend to fly in the air from the impact of the car.  The friend is rushed to the hospital.  Because the friend is Deaf, the main character was asked to help interrupt in sign language to her friend, in case she wakes up from her coma.