Welcome to Christian Writers!

We are a friendly community built around Christian writing, publishing, reading and fellowship. Register or sign in today to join in the fun!
suspensewriter

Do You End Your Stories Well?

William Cane says that "The success of a story or novel depends to a large extent on the conclusion."  So how much thought do you put into your ending?  Do you have your ending in mind when you start your story?

• Like 1

It's usually the ending I envision that makes me want to write the story in the first place. But whether or not I write endings well...I'm not sure. I think I tend to be a little abrupt. Perhaps because I don't imagine much past that "perfect ending" moment.

I've been a discovery writer for most of my life and only recently began to appreciate the virtue of story structure. With that said, I tend to find my ending while writing and then go back and punch it up after the fact. For The Blue Golem, I wrote a fairly standard action ending, learned the story was a Thriller under-the-hood, and went back and embellished out the 'threat of damnation' ending I have now. 

1 hour ago, suspensewriter said:

So how much thought do you put into your ending? Do you have your ending in mind when you start your story?

As the ending is the destination, then I'd say everything I write is about the journey to that ending. My writing philosophy is simple: How do I know where to take the story if I don't know where it's supposed to end? Sort of like planning a trip. It helps to know the destination, but that also doesn't mean there's only one route there.

There are writers who simply write and figure out where their story will end later. Pansters? Not sure if all Pansters don't know their endings ahead of time. 

Overall, however a writer gets to the end, you absolutely need to stick the landing! 

• Like 1

I like to know how the story is going to end before I start writing, but find that I have to discover the details of the ending as I go.