Welcome to Christian Writers!

We are a friendly community built around Christian writing, publishing, reading and fellowship. Register or sign in today to join in the fun!
jellicochris

Hello from Jellico, TN

My name is Chris Stringer. I am 36 years old and I live in Jellico, TN. I was a Youth Pastor for 4 years and an Encourager Coach for Celebrate Recovery for 6 years. I attended Grace Christian University to pursue an Associate degree in Leadership/Ministry. I had a wonderful relationship with the Lord, and a great relationship with people.

About 2 years ago, I began drinking again. I did not realize why I picked the bottle back up until maybe 3 months ago. I lost my grandmother on my mother’s side and it triggered something inside me. When I was 12 years old, I lost my grandmother on my father’s side, and I used alcohol to deal with the pain. I realized that I returned to that 12-year-old little boy that was hurting and tried to run from the pain instead of trusting God and growing closer to Him through it.

I turned my back on God and my entire family. I was in denial with everything that was going on and luckily, God pulled me out of it. It came at a great cost. I caused damage to my relationship with God and all those in my life that love me the most.

On July 1st I will have 3 months sober from alcohol. My relationship with the Lord is growing and being restored 😊 but the earthly consequences of my sinful behavior still haunt me.

I never liked to read and write. I struggled with college with having to read and write so much (laugh out loud). My love for reading started as I met Jesus Christ and wanted to know Him more. I found Him in each page of Scripture and learnt just a little more about His characteristics and who He is. My love for writing began with an assignment that my professor gave me one day.