Welcome to Christian Writers!

We are a friendly community built around Christian writing, publishing, reading and fellowship. Register or sign in today to join in the fun!
suspensewriter

Plot versus Character

In once chapter of "Write Like the Masters,"  William Cane says this:

" Salinger's characters are important even in his early stories, but as tie went on his fiction became even more character focused and less plot driven."

I'm confused, because my novels are more plot driven.  Do you find your novels are more character driven"

• Like 1

3 minutes ago, suspensewriter said:

Do you find your novels are more character driven"

I'm a romance writer, so yes. 😄 That said, it is not a lack of plot, just that you focus on how you get your characters to fix, deal, understand, etc. The plot/problems of your story. When someone says plot-driven, I find they mean they are focused on how the plot works, and not how the characters work through the plot. (I hope that made sense) 

• Like 5

I think we are back to that, 'everyone explains things a little differently'. 🙂 Which is great, because we all learn differently. Unless I'm just weird. 😄😋 

• Like 1

28 minutes ago, suspensewriter said:

I'm confused, because my novels are more plot driven.  Do you find your novels are more character driven"

I'd say mine are mostly plot driven. I'm happiest writing scenes that have a lot of action in them :D 

• Like 1

I try to weave the two together. Detailing the plot while also sprinkling in character/ backstory-driven narrative. Otherwise, I find that you get action-heavy sequences with little narrative or character-driven narrative that is super dry because the story hasn't taken you anywhere in ages.

• Like 1

I don't' know about "dry," because the action takes you forward (if it's good action), but I agree with you about the concept of weaving the two together.  But how do you do it?

4 minutes ago, suspensewriter said:

But how do you do it?