Welcome to Christian Writers!

We are a friendly community built around Christian writing, publishing, reading and fellowship. Register or sign in today to join in the fun!
Joseph S. Roberts

Setting Up a Writing Schedule

Okay, I have what I think is the perfect job for writing.  I work in healthcare as a trash tech, and I work 2nd shift.   I leave home at two-thirty in the afternoon to go into work.   In the mornings, I have my alarm set for seven-thirty, only thing is, I hit the snooze button several times before it reads nine-thirty a.m.   I’m thinking to myself that I really have no more excuses not to write.  I’m like, if I can get up at eight O’clock, I could begin writing at nine O-clock, and set it up to write up to a thousand words everyday.  

I’m curious to know what is your writing schedule like?   How do you overcome resistance? 

• Like 4

I'm not a morning person. I also want to get the needs done, so I dont have to stress over them. For me, writing is my favorite thing. I would rather write than watch tv. It's how I relax and unwind. Personally, my writing is done at night after kids go to bed. It gives me a couple of hours to relax and do what I enjoy. Although, if I get a chance to write while they play outside, or while everyone is watching a movie, I will take it! 😁 

• Like 6

3 hours ago, Joseph S. Roberts said:

I’m curious to know what is your writing schedule like?   How do you overcome resistance? 

I'm a homeschooling mother of four, so it's taken quite a bit of juggling to find a schedule that works, and there are still a lot of things I could do better.

At the moment, I get up at five in the morning. That's the best time for me to write my first drafts. I write fastest when I use dictation, and the early morning hours are quiet and distraction-free. When I'm at the editing or proofing stage, I do that right after we're done with our homeschooling work for the day.