Welcome to Christian Writers!

We are a friendly community built around Christian writing, publishing, reading and fellowship. Register or sign in today to join in the fun!

I’m new to writing, I’ve written several stories over two years but never seem to make it passed 5000 words.  I have a terrible time showing vs telling and keeping the same tense throughout the story.   How do you guys manage that? 

• Like 2

Welcome, it's nice to meet you! 

14 minutes ago, Joseph S. Roberts said:

How do you guys manage that? 

Practice. But also, we don't worry about it during the first draft of a story (easier said than done at times) and fix it during the editing and revisions stage. 

Yes, what Alley said. And it might be easier for you to start writing short stories to get the hang of things. Then, as you get accomplished, you would feel comfortable moving into novels.

Joe, I moved your thread here to the writers' forum for you. :D

Maybe your writing style is suited for short stories right now?  There are magazines and anthologies that might be looking for stories up to 5,000 words. 

17 minutes ago, SpecFictionGuy said:

Maybe your writing style is suited for short stories right now?  There are magazines and anthologies that might be looking for stories up to 5,000 words. 

This is true too! There is nothing wrong with a short story. I personally enjoy reading them. 🙂

Hey! I said short stories first! :D LOL

24 minutes ago, Joseph S. Roberts said:

Thank you, I don’t have the ability to post in other forums yet or I would have put it in the right one.

Joe, you are allowed everywhere except the critique forum until you have reached 10 comments. :D

2 minutes ago, lynnmosher said:

Joe, you are allowed everywhere except the critique forum until you have reached 10 comments. :D

Oh okay, I didn’t know, still getting my feet wet in this forum. 

2 minutes ago, lynnmosher said:

😱 😄

1 hour ago, Joseph S. Roberts said: