Welcome to Christian Writers!

We are a friendly community built around Christian writing, publishing, reading and fellowship. Register or sign in today to join in the fun!
MaryAnn Diorio

Question from a Newbie! :)

Hello, Everyone!

I am new to this website in general and to this group in particular.  Do you study poetic forms here, or do you simply submit your poetry? I enjoy both and am wondering what the focus of this group is. 

Thank you for your kind help. :)  

Blessings,

MaryAnn

Hi MaryAnne, 

I have been a member of this group for a little while and I just share my poetry.  Studying different forms would be very interesting I think. 

It is very interesting to study different forms of poetry.  If there are enough who would like to learn about different poetic forms, I would be happy to share some with all of you.  Please let me know.

Thanks and Blessings,

MaryAnn

• Like 2

OK. First of all, let me say that I am not an expert on poetry. I will simply share some things I have learned along the way, both from formal education and from writing my own poetry.

Let's start with the sonnet.  The sonnet is one of the oldest and best recognized poetic forms. It is a 14-line poem with variations in its rhyme scheme. It originated in Italy and then was brought to England in the 16th century. The word "sonnet" comes from the Italian word "sonetto", which means "a little song."

The sonnet usually focuses on a single emotion or theme. In its two closing lines, it presents a twist on that emotion or theme.

There are three main types of sonnet: the Petrarchan sonnet (also called the Italian sonnet), the Spencerian sonnet, and the Shakespearean sonnet.