Welcome to Christian Writers!

We are a friendly community built around Christian writing, publishing, reading and fellowship. Register or sign in today to join in the fun!

I know it is a somewhat misleading title.  This is more of a commemoration of one of my fallen music heroes: Neil Peart.  He died of cancer yesterday.

I was a drummer in high school when Rush was hitting their prime, and it was Neil Peart that just about every drummer out there looked up to.  If you were into rock music, the serious people were listening to Rush.  Even through the 1980s, with hair metal, New Wave, and all the trends, it was still Rush that carried the banner.  Their music transcended fickle trends.  And behind it all, it was the poetry of Neil Peart.

I've always had, and still have, five cornerstones of my musical tastes: Kansas, Genesis, ELP, Yes, and Rush.  Of the five, there were two who were lyrically above the rest.  Kansas, driven by Kerry Livgren, always had lyrics that could be moving and profound.  Kerry was always searching, looking for something in his youth, eventually finding Christ not long after the release of Leftoverture.  You could hear it in his song, "Carry On my Wayward Son," which was a song about searching and finding, and moving on.

The second was Rush.  Neil's lyrics could be silly ("Anagram for Mongo"), or profound ("A Farewell to Kings"), but they were never trite or banal.  He was always saying something.  His words always made you think.  I don't think he shared my beliefs, but I do know that whatever he wrote for Geddy always gave me pause for introspection, and sometimes even made me look twice at something else.  And in that way, he is as much an influence on my writing as anyone else.

And now he's gone.