Welcome to Christian Writers!

We are a friendly community built around Christian writing, publishing, reading and fellowship. Register or sign in today to join in the fun!
Johne

The Writer’s Dataset Is The World

My friend Story Grid Editor Danielle Kiowski wrote a piece for Medium which included this provocative line: "the writer’s dataset is the world." 

https://medium.com/writers-by-night/what-data-science-taught-me-about-writing-9b4b289db2eb

I am a data scientist by day and a writer by night.

On the surface, these two occupations seem as different as… well, night and day.

I used to think that they were.

Data science is math. Writing is language.

Data science is logical. Writing is creative.

Data science is “left-brained.” Writing is “right-brained.”

I had all of these scripts about why these two fields were total opposites — but similarities began to emerge as I learned more and practiced in each area. Now I can see that, at the core, these disciplines are about the same essential skill: the ability to distill and communicate insights from a dataset. Let’s walk through an example dataset, and I’ll show you what I mean.

Find the signal in the noise

Take a look at this set of data points:
image.png.bdae6d9a087059515aa82f7f43b06448.png

… and so on, for hundreds or thousands of rows.

Can you determine anything about this dataset from looking at it? Not much.

There’s too much input to hold everything in your mind at one time. You can’t find a pattern that way.

Now take a look at this:
image.png.50cf5b88612010cf2baea101d4b8f90f.png

Once we sum up the sales figures, we start to get an idea of what’s going on. Look at that seasonal trend — people are buying this product for the holidays.

Simple aggregations and visualizations help people to grasp the patterns of a dataset.

What does this have to do with writing?

While the analyst is making sense of a dataset, the writer’s dataset is the world.