Welcome to Christian Writers!

We are a friendly community built around Christian writing, publishing, reading and fellowship. Register or sign in today to join in the fun!
Micaiah

Self-publish or traditionally publish?

I'm a complete noob to this whole writing and publishing thing and I have a 22,000 word novella that I'm going to publish after I edit it. I've read internet post after internet post and they almost all disagree. I don't have a platform of any sort so I assume that would make it harder to traditionally publish...?

#Needhelp #Don'tknowwhattodo #Publishingiscomplicated

You will need some kind of author platform either way. My advice is to start your platform now before you ever publish. While you research which is right for you (traditional publishing or self-publishing), and while you are editing your book. This gives you a perfect opportunity to set up your platform. The earlier you start, the better! 

Unfortunately, it will make it harder no matter how you publish it. If you're not connected to a circle of people, how will they know you or know about your book? One thing though: please contact us here on the site before you do anything. There are too many out there just ready to ponce on newbies with a scam. And many are vanity publishers. They charge a lot of money. Not good.

One other thing: you really need to have your MS (manuscript) professionally edited. If you don't, it will not be the best it can be. And that will really hurt you. Your reviews will not be good ones.

2 hours ago, Micaiah said:

I have a 22,000 word novella that I'm going to publish after I edit it.

Congratulations!  That's a great accomplishment!  And it's exciting you're planning to publish!