Welcome to Christian Writers!

We are a friendly community built around Christian writing, publishing, reading and fellowship. Register or sign in today to join in the fun!
Shamrock

What to look for when doing the final edit.

I have finished the revision of my WIP. The next step is to go through the hard copy with a red pen for delete and green for change.

This is a final edit before it goes for copy edit. It has grown from 75k to 88k as I have developed one character's story more.  Not massive and within the recommended word count for thrillers. 

What would you be looking for to cure or change?

• Like 3

1. Filter words.
  2. too many adverbs
  3. repeating yourself
  4. over clarifying
  5. writer crutch words and phrases.

One read through and edit for each. I recommend getting a free account to Asana and setting up a project so you can keep track of progress.

• Like 2

As an editor, I read for flow, comprehension and pacing, along with smooth transitions. I've learned to read everything 'aloud' in my head as if I was saying the words. That way, clunky sentences, overly wordy text and other problems become obvious. The first six pages set the stage for the rest of the book. Make sure that opening has the right tone and the right pacing.

• Like 1

Actually, you might try a variation of what robg213 says, and read it out loud to yourself.  Failing that, you could get one of the text to speech programs to read it for you so you can hear for yourself such things as flow, pacing, comprehension and other niceties.  Believe me, it works.  There is no substitute for hearing your works read out loud to you.

• Like 1