Welcome to Christian Writers!

We are a friendly community built around Christian writing, publishing, reading and fellowship. Register or sign in today to join in the fun!
Manna

critique & feedback Looking for Screenplay Advice

Hello fellow writers! I was wondering if I could get some screenplay advice. Just practical blips of information on anything that someone who knows what they're doing thinks is important. I have questions such as: Am I supposed to put in the shots and angles or do I leave that up to the director? Do ALL actions have to be described in an action description paragraph or can some of them be in parenthesis with the dialogue of the character? I've read parts of a few screenplays and they seem to differ some in that aspect.

I am making a story I wrote into a spy/family screenplay and have had a lot of fun with it, however it's my first time and I really don't know what I'm doing. I don't expect it to become a movie (though I think Tom Hiddleston would make a good main character for it). I'm using the Celtx online program for layout. At least it looks decent! Haha

Thanks for your help!

• Like 2

@Manna, I don't if I'd count as "someone who knows what they're doing" (still learning myself!), but I'll share with you what I do know.

First, a couple things. . .

-don't repeat.

-don't include unnecessary chit chat.

-don't write it unless it has a reason (this can be checked in editing).

-write and rewrite.

-look into pacing and the three act story structure.

On 9/15/2019 at 3:49 PM, Manna said:

Am I supposed to put in the shots and angles

No. Usually, no. You tell the story, the director interprets it.

I've read parts of a few screenplays and they seem to differ

Style- it varies just as in novels. Read as many other scripts as you can, and you'll find your own way of writing. I use Disney for reference, but that's just preference. ;)