Welcome to Christian Writers!

We are a friendly community built around Christian writing, publishing, reading and fellowship. Register or sign in today to join in the fun!
MaryKaithe

Where to put the Icky stuff when you write about you?

Dear Writers all,

I have had a very difficult and painful life. Many hurdles that Christ has helped me overcome. I come from an emotionally, physically and sexually dysfunctional home.

I believe Christ wants me to write and share about my struggles and how I have overcome so many of them. But I am wondering if there should be a boundary, as a writer I should not cross. People love to say, when you get lemons, make lemonade.  It is important I rewrite my story for my health and recovery. I have forgiven all these criminals through Christ, but some hurts are so deep, I can't share them with innocent readers. the reader does not need to know every detail. When you are writing  about yourself, what boundaries do you put in place?  I  can get awfully  wordy, semantically ostentatious, and turn the reader off.  Have you ever read something and thought "Oh great! now I've got that image in my head!"  Boundaries are not very clear for me, which is why I write poetry. The East Wind is the story of my ancestors and family. How much truth is too much truth?

Thanks for riding the mining train,

MaryKaithe

• Like 1

First, what about those you'll be writing about? I think you might want to get permission. After publication, things can turn to really sour lemonade if others don't like that you wrote about them.

• Like 1

And the expose - they can't sue if you have evidence that what you say is true.  God said vengeance is mine.

But he never said we could not tell the truth.

• Like 1

It sounds like you've already made up your mind to write about them.  I would caution you to be careful, though, because yes they can sue you, even if "...they can't sue if you have evidence that what you say is true."

• Like 1