Welcome to Christian Writers!

We are a friendly community built around Christian writing, publishing, reading and fellowship. Register or sign in today to join in the fun!

Hello! I am new to Christian Writers and would like to know if I should use a literary agent for a Christian book I am writing. I have self published 3 children’s books. One that received honorable mention in the Paris book festival a few years ago. I am concerned that most publishers will not take a look at my book without an agent. Any thoughts?? Thank you so very much! I am a nurse practitioner who absolutely loves writing and want to expand my world with other authors. I appreciate any guidance. 

• Like 4

While I don't have an answer for you there are others can tell you their experiences. But I've heard both ways work, so it depends on your goals. 

• Like 3

Hi, Kymberly!

The moderators will ask you to hop over to the "meets and greets" page ASAP. 

The transition from self-published to traditional publication is easier with an agent. You have credits and awards to cite in your query letter, which is a plus.

We can help you with your social media platform and we have other resources.

Welcome!

• Like 4

Hi Kymberly! Welcome to Christian Writers! :D

While I don't know much about using an agent, I'm sure others on here will be able to help you. But from all of us here, welcome aboard! :)

• Like 2

Yes, if you're going to seek publication with the bigger companies, you will need an agent. There are a few small publishers that will accept submissions without an agent. We've discussed this before. I don't remember when that was. I'll try to find the thread/s but in the meantime, you can search through the writing forum. And yes, I hope you'll jump over to Meet and Greet. :D

• Like 2