Welcome to Christian Writers!

We are a friendly community built around Christian writing, publishing, reading and fellowship. Register or sign in today to join in the fun!
Alley

Newsletter content

Expanding off the topic of selling, I have another question. What should a writer/author talk about when sending out newsletters (or whatever they are called) to the people on their mailing lists? As a writer, I would love to hear about the process, but I'm not so sure a reader cares about it. I'll give you a small (because I don't have much) list I have, but I would love to hear what everyone's thoughts are on this, and if anyone has had success or failure with this. 

1) New books

2) Short extra snips about the characters. (Think short story.) 

3) Maybe some book review in the same category???

• Like 1

Posted (edited)
44 minutes ago, Alley said:

Short extra snips about the characters. (Think short story.) 

That is what I am working on right now. Just a little glimpse into the lives of my characters. Sort of a prequel, but way shorter, like 1,000 words? or less? 

Edited by Bob Leone
spelling correction

7 minutes ago, Bob Leone said:

like 1,000 words? or less?

I think that depends on you, but I would tend to stick to things no longer than a single chapter in your book. Longer and it might be a bit much. Not that I (as a reader) wouldn't love that. 

• Like 2

My chapters average 4000 to 5000 words. So I was thinking I would shoot for 1000 words or less?

Newsletters are just that: news letters. And the ones I get from writers do not contain chapters of their books, published or WIP. See if this article helps and be sure to click over and read the rest. It's very helpful:

The benefits of author newsletters