Welcome to Christian Writers!

We are a friendly community built around Christian writing, publishing, reading and fellowship. Register or sign in today to join in the fun!
Bob Leone

Good idea or not

I was wondering if it would be a good idea to put the first chapter of my book on my website.

Is that effective? Any experience with doing this?

• Like 1

I have no experience with this, but from what I've learned here it should be a way of hooking them. Then all you need to do is reel them in. Perhaps a link (appropriate of course) for more information at the end. I'm pretty sure there's a thread or two on the site about this very question, possibly under advertising, or readership, or something along those lines. Lynn may know.

• Like 2

Weellll...from all I've read, it's really not a good idea. Kristen Lamb answered this question:

"My answer was, 'Depends on what you’re posting. Most everything yes, in limited quantity. Chapters of a novel? No. No. Definitely…um, no.'”

It's difficult to get feedback if that's what you're looking for. But two big things: 1) it sets you up to being pirated, and 2) some traditional publishers (if you're going to go this route) will not accept your work. So, IMHO (in my humble opinion), though someone else may disagree with me, the answer is no. I would not do it.

• Like 2

I'm no expert, but I think I'd err on the side of caution, especially with how shady people on the internet can be in today's age. Maybe put a summary of your story on your website, so long as there's obvious copyright warnings and maybe a watermark in the background? 

• Like 3

Yes, that's a much better idea  to put a plot summary of your story on the internet.  That way you are safe from thieves, traditional publishers will accept your work and you still get to hook the reader.

• Like 2

3 hours ago, Bob Leone said:

I was wondering if it would be a good idea to put the first chapter of my book on my website.