Welcome to Christian Writers!

We are a friendly community built around Christian writing, publishing, reading and fellowship. Register or sign in today to join in the fun!
Johne

[OT] What Got Me Interested In Writing

A contact on LinkedIn asked me this morning what got me interested in Technical Writing. This was my reply.

Hi, Cindy,

I'm a Technical Writer by day and Creative writer in my free time. I've always been a writer ever since I was a kid but I didn't begin getting paid for it until I was 37. Before then, I'd tried my hand at the usual grab bag of jobs before I landed my career, and I backed into that late and in the weirdest possible way. I can tell you my story but I don't recommend my particular path to working in Technical Communications.

I've always been a reader and after awhile, you get a feeling for how to represent thoughts on a page to share with someone else. I was working as a desk clerk for a small R&D firm in Madison, WI. While there, an older woman in the company took me under her wing and took advantage of all the free time I had in my position. She asked for my help with her projects which required learning FrameMaker, RoboHelp, and Visio. I'm a quick study when it comes to software and I was soon editing documents for her and producing content. After a couple of years the company decided they wanted someone in that position who knew Accounts Payable and we parted company by mutual agreement as I was enjoying the writing work and had no interest in Accounting of any sort. I slapped 'Technical Writer' on a resume' and put it up on monster.com. I got my foot in the door on a six month contract gig and I was off to the races. That was twenty years ago and I've never looked back.