Welcome to Christian Writers!

We are a friendly community built around Christian writing, publishing, reading and fellowship. Register or sign in today to join in the fun!

I am new to the world of self-publishing, but man are there ever a lot of choices!  The is Kindle, which is easy to use and easy to self-publish with, iPad which I've yet to check out.  Then there's Kobe, and Barnes and Noble Press.  Then there's Ingram Spark.  I've got to tell you, I'm loving it!  Do you mind sharing what your experiences with them have been?

• Like 3

Posted (edited)

For eBooks: I publish directly with KDP, B&N, Google Play, and Kobo. I also use Smashwords to get to Apple (because I don't have an Apple product) and a few other obscure outlets they distribute to (Like Baker & Taylor, Scribd, Overdrive, etc.).

My strategy is to publish direct with the big retailers to maximize royalty rates and gain access to promotion opportunities that you can't get at through aggregators (like Smashwords). Aggreators then fill in the blanks to other places. I'd like to go direct with Apple, but I need to be on an Apple product to do so. 

For Print Books:  I publish through KDP Print - only because I was on Createspace and was rolled into them. I also use their expanded distribution option to make my books available to  wide range of distributors/retailers.

I've always wondered about Ingram Spark as an alternative, but they cost more because they charge for revisions (KDP doesn't). However, I've heard that books stores are more likely to order from them (as opposed to KDP Print) because they offer returns.   

Edited by Accord64
  • Like 3

Not published yet, but I have heard a ton of good things about Ingramspark! 

• Like 1

7 hours ago, Accord64 said:

I've always wondered about Ingram Spark as an alternative, but they cost more because they charge for revisions (KDP doesn't).