Blind Date?

Guest Julie Plowright Desjardins

Guest Julie Plowright Desjardins

Hello. Ok, so I guess this isn't really like a blind date but then again maybe ... sorta ... cause I just stumbled onto this site while fooling around on Google and so I thought I'd try it out, dip my big toe in the Red Sea so to speak and see if the waters part, hahaha. And the thing about blind dates is you're not really sure who you're going to meet or how things are going to turn out or if you really do need that rescue call; not that I'd really know too much about blind dates anymore (having been married for almost a decade) but I'm guessing I'd want to have a rescue call set up. Just in case.

So I guess I'll start. I'm Julie. I work full time as a registered nurse in primary care in northern Manitoba, Canada. Last August I started a blog (www.dosedependent.me) and discovered that I love writing, especially writing about faith and food - sometimes together and sometimes separately. I have recently taken a little mini hiatus from posting on my blog - life, family, young child, full-time work and one more ball in the air makes it hard to juggle. However I imagine I am not alone when I say that I find myself wishing now that I could write for a living but I am completely unsure of how I would do that. I believe that everyone who surrenders their life to the Lordship of Jesus Christ has a call on their life, each one as the Lord wills and determines; I feel as though God is calling and gifting me to write and to speak for Him but I cannot at this time imagine what that will look like or how it will unfold. Especially with access to the world wide web; why, it seems like everywhere you turn there is a writer or a speaker or a ministry; what drop of water could I possibly contribute to this endless ocean? One thing I do know is that I am often impatient, wanting to "help" God along so I can see this story, my faith journey, unfold. Tonight a friend told me that her passion is to base he