Editing courses

May 28, 2019
A friend of mine is thinking of doing an editing course via online. Either a regular group sessions or self-taught.

Can anyone recommend a good course or company to check out?

Reactions: HK1
Oct 2, 2022
Or, you could take the expensive way and go to college for a degree in editorial and journalism like I'm doing. :D

I think Reedsy is a great option. I've checked out the site before and it looks great.

May 28, 2019
Thank you everyone.

There are some great links here. i will pass them on to my friend.

What has interested me is the different approach these editing courses by editing agencies have to others by writing sites and organisations. They seem to come at editing from the writer's perspective - almost a rehash of a writing course then an editing course whereas the professional editing site like PEN and EFA come at from a more objective approach.

Is it possible for a writer to be objective about the writing that they can edit it?

Claire Tucker

Copyeditor and Proofreader
Jan 26, 2018
Is it possible for a writer to be objective about the writing that they can edit it?
This depends on whose writing you're talking about. Part of an editor's power is that they aren't the creator of what they're editing. That reduces the emotional connection to the work (although I do react emotionally to pieces I've edited) and gives us the perspective of "this isn't working" or "this can be better." With my own writing, I can certainly make sure that all the rules of the Chicago Manual of Style are in place and that stuff is spelled correctly. But I'm not necessarily going to see why that particular line at that point isn't working or how it's causing the moment to drag.