Jump to content

AuthorIrisChacon

Member
  • Content Count

    309
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

AuthorIrisChacon last won the day on September 25 2015

AuthorIrisChacon had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

8 Neutral

1 Follower

About AuthorIrisChacon

  • Birthday 01/04/1950

Information

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Thank you, @jonjovi. I think this book will be a big hit, and it will give readers something to think about, too. I appreciate your comments. Iris Chacon
  2. Rated five stars out of five by reviewer Iris Chacon. I received a free copy of the book from NetGalley, and I am voluntarily posting my honest review. Synapse, by Steven James It's thirty years in the future, and life has both changed and stayed the same. Self-driving cars are the norm and everybody has robot employees, called Artificials. Still, the Pacific Northwest of the USA is home of the latest tech giant, and people still wrestle with terrorism, political street protests, and prejudice. The spine of the story is the controversy surroundi
  3. Faith-oriented readers will especially love this wholesome western story of an underdog who rises above his hardships to build an unusual and large frontier family, against all odds. Now he just needs to find a wife, but the only girl he's ever loved is a wealthy, high-society banker's daughter who doesn't even know him. Author Lacy Williams has made us fall in love with young Jonas, the patriarch of the unique White family, and with Penelope, the banker's daughter from a nearby town. You won't want to put the book down until you know whether Jonas will ever succeed in finding som
  4. Rated four stars out of five by reviewer Iris Chacon. #MurderAtMapleRidge, #PatriciaGligor. I purchased this ebook, and this is my honest review. Fans of Mary Higgins Clark and Agatha Christie will enjoy this story of a New Year's house party featuring dramas and conflicts aplenty even before the first shooting! Author Patricia Gligor has created a classic and endearing whodunit with complex inter-character relationships that generate suspects by the dozen. Readers will enjoy the twists, turns and surprises that make Murder at Map!e Ridge one of the most entertai
  5. CAMP LENAPE, by Timothy R. Baldwin, is a YA novel that readers from middle school to adulthood will enjoy. Rated five stars out of five by reviewer Iris Chacon. #BooksGoSocial #CampLenape #TimothyRBaldwin I purchased this ebook, and this is my honest review. Teenagers Marcus and Alissa have grown up together as neighbors and friends, and they have gone to summer camp together at Camp Lenape many times. This year, Marcus and Alissa are old enough to serve as junior camp counselors. Mr. Roberts, the camp director, grew up at Ca
  6. This book has been rated four out of five stars by reviewer Iris Chacon. I received a free copy of the book from the publisher via NetGalley, and I am voluntarily posting my honest review. #NetGalley #LoveAndOtherMistakes Seven years ago, pastor's daughter Natalie Groves was on her way to realizing all her dreams of college, marriage, and a career in a ministry she loved. Then, her father got cancer, Natalie dumped college and career plans to be the breadwinner for her family, and fiancè, Jeremy Walters, left her at the alter and promptly disappeared.
  7. Rated five stars out of five by reviewer Iris Chacon. A complimentary ARC was provided to this reviewer for an honest, unbiased review. Imagine that someone you loved very much simply disappeared. Imagine that you know they become visible again for an hour each day at three o'clock, and you go to that place every day at three just to see your loved one. But you can't talk to them or touch them or even reveal yourself to them, because if you do, they'll disappear again immediately. That's the scenario presented in all its joy and pathos in L.S. Fellows' short story/novell
  8. Rated five stars out of five by reviewer Iris Chacon. This book is scheduled for release December 5, 2017. A complimentary ARC was provided to this reviewer for an honest, unbiased review. In January 2017 I had the pleasure of reading Katherine Arden's first novel, The Bear and the Nightingale. At the time, I wrote in my review that the book was "a laudable debut and gives every indication that future works by Katherine Arden will be worth a look." It turns out, I was right. Arden's second novel, The Girl in the Tower, is even more polished than the first. Arden says
  9. Rated four stars out of five by reviewer Iris Chacon. A complimentary ARC was provided to this reviewer for an honest, unbiased review. This book is scheduled for release on October 3, 2017. Perennially popular author Debbie Macomber says of her 2017 Christmas novel, "Merry and Bright is a fun story. ... My wish is that you will smile and it will bring a bit of light and warmth to your winter." Macomber fans, and readers new to the Macomber magic, will find all the entertainment, romance, and sentiment they could want between the pages of Merry and Bright. This is a light-
  10. BOOK REVIEW: Love's Unfading Light, Eagle Harbor Book 1, by Naomi Rawlings Rated five ***** stars out of five by reviewer Iris Chacon. A complimentary ARC was provided to this reviewer for an honest, unbiased review. This engaging, entertaining small-town story follows a lighthouse keeper (Mac) and a baker (Tressa) in a place called Eagle Harbor, on the shores of Lake Superior. Both characters have experienced tragedy and are separately dealing with social, business, and family problems. Only God could repair the cracks in these two lives, and Tressa no longer believes
  11. BOOK REVIEW: Love's Legacy; A First Street Church Romance, by Stephany Tullis (Christian author) Rated five stars out of five by reviewer Iris Chacon. A complimentary ARC was provided to this reviewer for an honest, unbiased review. The book is scheduled for release on July 19, 2017. In this charming novella, a young married couple experiences a family's worse nightmare: their 9-year-old son dies in a random, drive-by shooting during an innocent Thanksgiving celebration. Two and a half years later, Dee and Kyle are literally on their
  12. BOOK REVIEW: Any Dream Will Do, by Debbie Macomber Rated five stars out of five by reviewer Iris Chacon. A complimentary ARC was provided to this reviewer for an honest, unbiased review. Fans of the clean, smooth, charming style of author Debbie Macomber will find her once again on top of her game in the novel, Any Dream Will Do. Macomber takes us into the lives of a woman in prison and a young pastor, widowed and raising a small child. These two people are from different backgrounds and traveling on different life paths, yet Macomber weaves their stories together in a fa
  13. Review of IT BEGAN (Zero Power Book One; A Post Apocalyptic EMP Survival) by Max Lockwood. Rated 4 out of 5 stars by Iris Chacon. Parents strongly cautioned: It Began contains no explicit sex, but alludes to extramarital sex. The novel contains mild, infrequent cursing and instances of bloody, graphic death. The author kindly provided me a copy of the ebook upon my promise of an honest review. High school teachers, Clara and Cooper, are both colleagues and carpool buddies. One day as they are driving to work, a traffic jam becomes a nightmare. Every vehicl
  14. Review of Roadside by AngieDokos. Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars by Iris Chacon. After Zayne and his father happen upon a young woman left for dead on a deserted roadside, her recovery and protection become central to Zayne's life. The story revolves around the victim, Serena, and her relationship with Zayne and other young adults as her body and spirit gradually heal. The search for Serena's attacker is suspenseful. The ebbing and flowing relationships between the young people surrounding Zayne and Serena provide various insights into the human condition in general and Serena's damaged
  15. Review of Resurrection America (A Thriller) by Jeff Gunhus. Rated 4 out of 5 stars by Iris Chacon. The author furnished this reviewer with an advance download of the book on the promise of an honest review. Science fiction fans will enjoy this engaging thriller about mysterious doings in the isolated town of Resurrection, Colorado. Sheriff Rick Johnson and Deputy Manny Garcia accidentally discover that a supposedly abandoned mine outside of town has been re-inhabited and now operates under a sinister veil of absolute secrecy. Soon, Deputy Garcia has disappeared, Sheriff Jo
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.