PDA

View Full Version : Any experience with Trafford publishing?


miranda119
11-13-2006, 10:53 AM
I need some help. My father is a gifted writer (he recently won 4th of about 200 in a Zondervan contest for his creative nonfiction about his childhood.) He has that book and a novel that he wants to publish, but he does not trust the publishing business and doesn't think it's worth his time to try conventional publishing. (which I don't get, considering the Zondervan contest!) He's found this place, Trafford, and he's planning on eventually publishing with them. He's convinced it's not a self-publisher, but it seems like one looking at the website he sent me.

Does anyone know anything about this publisher, or have any experience with them? Any info would be helpful.

Thanks!:)

kriswrite
11-13-2006, 03:31 PM
I took a look at their website, and this is definitely a vanity press.

Their logo ("Your book, your way") refers to self publishing. They mention: "Learn how to publish your novel..." This is a self publishing phrase. A real publisher talks about how THEY will publish the book, and the writer will write it. Also they mention that their services are "affordable." A legit publisher NEVER asks for money from the writer!

I'm sorry your dad is so discouraged about traditional publishing. If he can place in the Zondervan contest, he should have no trouble at all getting a legitimate publisher :) In fact, he should use that credit to help him get his foot in the door with an agent or editor.

Kristina

Kristina

miranda119
11-13-2006, 07:35 PM
Thanks for the reply. That is the same feeling I got from the website. Dad seems to think that they won't ask him for any money up front and he likes that he will stay in control of his work, but I find it very hard to believe that a vanity publisher will not ask for money.

Unfortunately, my Dad is very stubborn. I wish I knew what to say to convince him.

DraperJC
11-14-2006, 01:41 AM
Have him spend a few minutes at writers.net or Absolute Write. They'll set him straight. Either that or he'll wake up when the first request for money comes to him.

buggles
11-14-2006, 01:22 PM
If he wants to go it alone, from what I've heard Lulu is the best bet. At least they're pretty honest about what they offer, and as far as I know you only pay for what you order. If, however, he is indeed a gifted writer, perhaps he should at least TRY to get an agent.

miranda119
11-14-2006, 03:21 PM
He is, and he should. But that doesn't mean he will. I guess I'll just keep trying. I was hoping to find someone that said they had a horrible experience with Trafford and I could tell him that. Anyway, draperjc, you're right, I hope, about him waking up when they ask for money. I just hope he doesn't get taken for a ride.

Thanks all, for your concern! :)

Gravity
11-22-2006, 02:31 AM
I understand Trafford is one of the pricier vanities, the full package coming in around $10,000 or so (the ISBN number may be extra). And like any vanity house, if he places his work with them the onus of marketing will be squarely on his shoulders. In other words, no professional reviews and no bookstore placement. But if he's fine with the rules, and has 10k to burn, let him go for it. As my wife's grandmother used to say, "if you can't listen, you have to feel!"

love2write
11-25-2006, 10:02 AM
Another thing to point out to your dad is that a self-published book is not considered a legitimate publishing credit. If he writes other books and submits to agents and publishers he will not be able to put this book in his credits. He can mention the award though.

Also Tafford will not get his book into bookstores. The sale of the book will be his burden. They will take his money and print his book, that is it. Lulu is a better choice for self-publishing, but the same things apply...no pubishing credit, no bookstore placement.

He should submit his book to Christian agents since he won this award. Tell him not to take the easy route to pubication. He will end up regretting it.